Comparison guide · Indoor Air & Climate
Air purifiers for wildfire smoke: CADR, room size, noise, and filters compared
Use documented smoke CADR to match room size. This evidence set independently evaluates only the Levoit Vital 200S-P; the other shortlisted models are specification comparisons, so it does not establish a universal performance winner.
- Published
- Aug 22, 2026
- Updated
- Aug 19, 2026
- Last checked
- Aug 19, 2026
- Recommendation
- Segmented

Recommendations by Buyer Fit

233 cfm bedroom scale option
Coway Airmega Mighty AP-1512HH
Coway lists the Airmega Mighty AP-1512HH at a smoke CADR of 233 cfm, a 361-square-foot room size at 4.8 air changes per hour, and 24–53 dB operation. This is a specification-based fit; Worthwise did not independently test this model's performance.
Verified strengths
- Coway lists the Airmega Mighty AP-1512HH at a smoke CADR of 233 cfm, a 361-square-foot room size at 4.8 air changes per hour, and 24–53 dB operation.
Good fit for
- Buyers matching roughly bedroom-scale space to a documented 233 cfm smoke CADR.
Think twice if
- Rooms whose smoke-sizing target exceeds the documented 233 cfm CADR.

328 cfm larger room option
Coway Airmega 400
Coway lists the Airmega 400 at a smoke CADR of 328 cfm, coverage of 1,560 square feet at two air changes per hour, and a 22–52 dB sound range. This is a specification-based fit; Worthwise did not independently test this model's performance.
Verified strengths
- Coway lists the Airmega 400 at a smoke CADR of 328 cfm, coverage of 1,560 square feet at two air changes per hour, and a 22–52 dB sound range.
Good fit for
- Buyers whose room-size calculation calls for more particle-cleaning airflow than the 233-to-250-cfm options provide.
Think twice if
- Rooms whose smoke-sizing target exceeds the documented 328 cfm CADR.

392 square foot AHAM option
Winix 5510 Air Purifier
Winix lists the 5510 for an AHAM-verified 392-square-foot room and specifies 23.5 dB on its lowest fan speed. This is a specification-based fit; Worthwise did not independently test this model's performance.
Verified strengths
- Winix lists the 5510 for an AHAM-verified 392-square-foot room and specifies 23.5 dB on its lowest fan speed.
Good fit for
- Buyers matching a bedroom or office to the documented AHAM-verified 392-square-foot room size.
Think twice if
- Rooms that require more particle-cleaning airflow than this disclosed room-size rating supports.

Only independently tested exact model here
Levoit Vital 200S-P Smart Air Purifier
Levoit specifies the Vital 200S-P (LAP-V201S-WUS) at 250 cfm CADR, 388 square feet at 4.8 air changes per hour, and 23–54 dB. The cited external evidence covers this exact model but does not establish long-term reliability or a universal winner.
Verified strengths
- Levoit specifies the Vital 200S-P (LAP-V201S-WUS) at 250 cfm CADR, 388 square feet at 4.8 air changes per hour, and 23–54 dB.
Good fit for
- Buyers matching a room to 250 cfm CADR who value having exact-model independent performance evidence in this set.
Think twice if
- Rooms whose smoke-sizing target exceeds the documented 250 cfm CADR.

Highest documented smoke CADR here
Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max
Blueair lists the Blue Pure 211i Max at a smoke CADR of 435 cfm, a 674-square-foot recommended room size at 4.8 air changes per hour, and 23–53 dB. This is a specification-based fit; Worthwise did not independently test this model's performance.
Verified strengths
- Blueair lists the Blue Pure 211i Max at a smoke CADR of 435 cfm, a 674-square-foot recommended room size at 4.8 air changes per hour, and 23–53 dB.
Good fit for
- Buyers whose room-size calculation fits the documented 435 cfm smoke CADR.
Think twice if
- Buyers who need exact-model independent testing rather than a specification-only comparison.

Conventional high CADR alternative
Medify Air MA-50 Air Purifier V3.0
Medify Air lists the MA-50 V3.0 at a smoke CADR of 352 cfm, an AHAM-verified room size of 550 square feet, and 21.2–60.6 dBA. This is a specification-based fit; Worthwise did not independently test this model's performance.
Verified strengths
- Medify Air lists the MA-50 V3.0 at a smoke CADR of 352 cfm, an AHAM-verified room size of 550 square feet, and 21.2–60.6 dBA.
Good fit for
- Buyers wanting a conventional-looking large-room purifier with a documented 352 cfm smoke CADR.
Think twice if
- Noise-sensitive sleepers planning to run the highest fan speed.
Research at a glance
- Sources reviewed
- 30
- Candidates considered
- 15
- Shortlisted
- 6
- Evidence confidence
- Moderate
- Last verified
- Aug 19, 2026
Supporting research, models, limitations, and sources
Quick chooser
| If you need | Consider | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Buyers matching roughly bedroom-scale space to a documented 233 cfm smoke CADR. | Coway Airmega Mighty AP-1512HH | Coway lists the Airmega Mighty AP-1512HH at a smoke CADR of 233 cfm, a 361-square-foot room size at 4.8 air changes per hour, and 24–53 dB operation. This is a specification-based fit; Worthwise did not independently test this model's performance. |
| Buyers whose room-size calculation calls for more particle-cleaning airflow than the 233-to-250-cfm options provide. | Coway Airmega 400 | Coway lists the Airmega 400 at a smoke CADR of 328 cfm, coverage of 1,560 square feet at two air changes per hour, and a 22–52 dB sound range. This is a specification-based fit; Worthwise did not independently test this model's performance. |
| Buyers matching a bedroom or office to the documented AHAM-verified 392-square-foot room size. | Winix 5510 Air Purifier | Winix lists the 5510 for an AHAM-verified 392-square-foot room and specifies 23.5 dB on its lowest fan speed. This is a specification-based fit; Worthwise did not independently test this model's performance. |
| Buyers matching a room to 250 cfm CADR who value having exact-model independent performance evidence in this set. | Levoit Vital 200S-P Smart Air Purifier | Levoit specifies the Vital 200S-P (LAP-V201S-WUS) at 250 cfm CADR, 388 square feet at 4.8 air changes per hour, and 23–54 dB. The cited external evidence covers this exact model but does not establish long-term reliability or a universal winner. |
| Buyers whose room-size calculation fits the documented 435 cfm smoke CADR. | Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max | Blueair lists the Blue Pure 211i Max at a smoke CADR of 435 cfm, a 674-square-foot recommended room size at 4.8 air changes per hour, and 23–53 dB. This is a specification-based fit; Worthwise did not independently test this model's performance. |
| Buyers wanting a conventional-looking large-room purifier with a documented 352 cfm smoke CADR. | Medify Air MA-50 Air Purifier V3.0 | Medify Air lists the MA-50 V3.0 at a smoke CADR of 352 cfm, an AHAM-verified room size of 550 square feet, and 21.2–60.6 dBA. This is a specification-based fit; Worthwise did not independently test this model's performance. |
Exact models in this decision
| Product | Model number | Generation | Variant | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coway Airmega Mighty AP-1512HH | AP-1512HH | Not stated | Black | Aug 18, 2026 |
| Coway Airmega 400 | AP-2015F | Not stated | White | Aug 18, 2026 |
| Winix 5510 Air Purifier | 5510 | Not stated | Polished Charcoal | Aug 18, 2026 |
| Levoit Vital 200S-P Smart Air Purifier | LAP-V201S-WUS | Not stated | White | Aug 18, 2026 |
| Blueair Blue Pure 211i Max | Blue Pure 211i Max | Not stated | Light Grey | Aug 18, 2026 |
| Medify Air MA-50 Air Purifier V3.0 | MA-50 V3.0 | Not stated | White | Aug 18, 2026 |
| Shark Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX HP302 (White) | HP302 | NeverChange MAX / HP300 Series | White, standard single unit | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Rabbit Air Rabbit Air A3 Ultra Quiet Air Purifier SPA-1000N (White, Pet Allergy filter) | SPA-1000N | A3 current generation | White with Pet Allergy customized filter | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Austin Air Austin Air HealthMate HM400 (Sandstone) | HM400 | Current standard-size HealthMate | Sandstone, standard size; retail color code intentionally unasserted | Aug 19, 2026 |
| IQAir IQAir HealthPro Plus XE (White/White) | HealthPro Plus XE | XE | White/White, U.S. 100–120 V | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Blueair Blueair Blue Pure 311i Max 3332111100 (Light Gray) | 3332111100 | Blue Pure Max | Light Gray pre-filter, 100–120 V U.S. unit | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Coway Coway Airmega 250S AP-1720G (White) | AP-1720G | 250S smart/Wi-Fi model | White, standard single unit | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Levoit Levoit Core 600S-P LAP-C601S-WUS (White) | LAP-C601S-WUS | Core 600S-P | White, standard U.S. single unit | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Oransi Oransi mod+ Air Purifier MD02 (White) | MD02 | mod+ | White, standard single unit | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Honeywell Honeywell Allergen Plus InSight Series HPA5300B (Black) | HPA5300B | InSight Series | Black, standard single unit | Aug 19, 2026 |
How we compared them
| Criterion | Scope used |
|---|---|
| pollutant | wildfire_smoke_particles |
| room size | matched_by_smoke_cadr |
| ozone | avoid_intentional_generation |
| filter cost | replacement_required |
Considered, then left off the shortlist
- Shark Shark NeverChange Air Purifier MAX HP302 (White)
- Rabbit Air Rabbit Air A3 Ultra Quiet Air Purifier SPA-1000N (White, Pet Allergy filter)
- Austin Air Austin Air HealthMate HM400 (Sandstone)
- IQAir IQAir HealthPro Plus XE (White/White)
- Blueair Blueair Blue Pure 311i Max 3332111100 (Light Gray)
- Coway Coway Airmega 250S AP-1720G (White)
- Levoit Levoit Core 600S-P LAP-C601S-WUS (White)
- Oransi Oransi mod+ Air Purifier MD02 (White)
- Honeywell Honeywell Allergen Plus InSight Series HPA5300B (Black)
Start with smoke CADR, not a one-hour coverage claim
Wildfire smoke contains fine particles that can penetrate indoors. EPA's quick sizing rule uses tobacco-smoke CADR and an eight-foot ceiling: at least two-thirds of room area for ordinary particle cleaning, with a CADR numerically equal to room area worth considering for heavier smoke. A claim that a purifier covers thousands of square feet in an hour reflects far fewer air changes and is not equivalent.
Quick chooser
Use documented smoke CADR to match room size. This evidence set independently evaluates only the Levoit Vital 200S-P; the other shortlisted models are specification comparisons, so it does not establish a universal performance winner. Manufacturer dB ranges may use different protocols and are not a controlled noise ranking.
Particles are not gases
CADR describes clean-air delivery for particles. It does not quantify removal of wildfire gases or odors. Thin carbon sheets may reduce light odors but are not equivalent to a deep bed of sorbent. Avoid air cleaners that intentionally produce ozone; CARB or electrical-and-ozone screening is not a blanket effectiveness or health-safety endorsement. Close windows when official guidance allows, reduce indoor particle sources, and replace filters when loading cuts airflow.
Evidence themes and gaps
The cited independent guide emphasizes particle removal and the noise cost of higher fan speeds. Exact-model independent evidence in this set is limited to the Levoit Vital 200S-P; the remaining models are specification comparisons. Manufacturer sound ranges may use different methods and conditions, so they are not treated as a controlled cross-model noise ranking.
Safety and evidence limits
Follow EPA and local emergency guidance during a smoke event. A purifier does not replace evacuation, medical advice, or a well-fitted respirator outdoors. Worthwise did not physically test these purifiers. Retailer stock, replacement-filter availability, and safety notices can change after the review date.
Questions buyers ask
Did Worthwise physically test these products?
No. Worthwise reviewed the cited manufacturer documentation and external reporting; it did not physically test these products.
Why is there no universal winner?
Room size, smoke CADR, noise at the intended speed, filter cost, and carbon-media needs change the fit.
Update history
- 2026-08-18: Initial prepublication research intake assembled from the cited sources; this needs-review record has not been published.
- 2026-08-18: Prepublication editorial remediation narrowed unsupported claims, product scope, retailer scope, and internal links. Status remains needs-review; no publication occurred.
- 2026-08-18: Prepublication intake repair replaced a cross-pack page reference with the public unique-product hub. Status remains needs-review; no publication occurred.
- 2026-08-18: Independent editorial review removed unsupported value, app, filter-cost, ionization, pet, odor-media, and filter-design conclusions; retained recommendations now use only exact smoke CADR, room-size, disclosed sound, and cited exact-model test evidence.
- 2026-08-19: Expanded the exact research universe to 15 dual-reviewed candidates and the displayed shortlist to 6 products. Candidate-only products remain outside recommendation copy and public retailer relations.
- 2026-08-19: A revision-bound second review rejected the unresolved BreatheSmart 45i V1/V2 identity and replaced it with exact Oransi mod+ MD02 evidence. The candidate universe remains 15; displayed recommendations and retailer relations are unchanged.
- 2026-08-19: Recovered and integrated the independently reconciled nine-product air-purifier candidate-only universe with exact U.S. variants, current retailer paths, dated Amazon classifications, page-specific inclusion rationale, reciprocal source claims, evidence limitations, and separately preserved two-pass Work-session safety decisions. The six-product displayed shortlist is unchanged.
- 2026-08-19: Surfaced the already-cited EPA boundary to avoid devices that intentionally produce ozone; no new performance claim was added.
Research Passport
Trade-offs and limitations
- Worthwise did not physically test these products.
- Eligible Amazon links in this record were manually verified on 2026-08-18 and may use affiliate tracking when the runtime affiliate mode is enabled. Price and availability can change.
- Recall and operating-safety records are dated checks, not guarantees.
- Prices, stock, specifications, bundles, firmware, filters, batteries, and accessories can change after the access date.
- Exact model, variant, bundle, and selected destination were checked for the recorded products on 2026-08-18; grouped manufacturer pages, price, stock, configuration, and retailer routing can still change.
Sources
How we verified it
Related Worthwise guidance
- quiet tower fans for bedrooms
- comparison reviews
- our research method
- corrections and updates
- request a review
- Shark TurboBlade TF202S review: targeted airflow, noise, and who should skip it
- Airthings View Plus 2960 review: broad sensor coverage with calibration limits
- Shark NeverChange Compact Pro HP072 review: what the five-year filter claim leaves out