Unique product check · Indoor Air & Climate

Shark NeverChange Compact Pro HP072 review: what the five-year filter claim leaves out

HP072 may warrant consideration when compact size is the main requirement, but the current record does not validate five years of filter life or comparative smoke performance.

Published
Aug 22, 2026
Updated
Aug 18, 2026
Last checked
Aug 18, 2026
Recommendation
Promising but insufficiently proven
Recent Worthwise comparisonAir purifiers for wildfire smoke: CADR, room size, noise, and filters comparedUse documented smoke CADR to match room size. This evidence set independently evaluates only the Levoit Vital 200S-P; the other shortlisted models are specification comparisons, so it does not establish a universal performance winner.Read comparison

Our Review in Brief

Shark NeverChange Air Purifier Compact Pro — Dove

Shark NeverChange Air Purifier Compact Pro

Worthwise verdict: Promising but insufficiently proven

HP072 may warrant consideration when compact size is the main requirement, but the current record does not validate five years of filter life or comparative smoke performance.

HP072 may warrant consideration when compact size is the main requirement, but the current record does not validate five years of filter life or comparative smoke performance.

May suit

  • People outfitting a small room who value a compact body, simple controls, and reduced planned filter purchases.

Skip it if

  • People who require a published smoke CADR for sizing, people treating a larger room, buyers who need independently demonstrated long-term filter cost, or anyone who does not want an included scented odor cartridge and its separate replacement cost.

Established Alternatives

Review analysis

What is genuinely different. The difference is not a new air-cleaning mechanism. It is the packaging of a compact purifier, particle display, odor cartridge, and a filter that Shark says may last up to five years under defined use assumptions.

The problem it claims to solve. It is meant to provide low-maintenance particle filtration in a bedroom, office, or other small room without the bulk or replacement schedule of a conventional purifier.

Why it is receiving attention. The HP072 pairs a genuinely small footprint with a large maintenance claim. That combination is attractive to people who dislike recurring filter purchases, but the headline can obscure room-air-change assumptions and unknown high-particle loading.

Value assessment. HP072 may warrant consideration when compact size is the main requirement, but the current record does not validate five years of filter life or comparative smoke performance.

Recurring patterns in the available evidence
  • The specialist review and product listing consistently describe a small, light unit that is easier to place than larger purifiers.
  • One independent review reports model-family noise and response observations; the retained evidence does not establish a defect rate or exact U.S. review-corpus prevalence.
  • The up-to-five-year main-filter claim is conditional and not independently time-validated; a separate scented odor cartridge remains a recurring consumable with conflicting current first-party replacement intervals.

Research at a glance

Sources reviewed
12
Candidates considered
4
Shortlisted
4
Evidence confidence
Low
Last verified
Aug 18, 2026
Supporting research, models, limitations, and sources

Exact models in this decision

ProductModel numberGenerationVariantChecked
Shark NeverChange Air Purifier Compact ProHP072Not statedDoveAug 18, 2026
Coway Airmega Mighty AP-1512HHAP-1512HHNot statedWhiteAug 18, 2026
Levoit Core 300S-P Smart Air PurifierCore 300SNot statedWhiteAug 18, 2026
Blueair Blue Pure 511i MaxNot statedMaxNot statedAug 18, 2026

Read the room-size claim carefully

The current manufacturer listing states 250 square feet at one air change per hour. It does not publish smoke CADR. Worthwise therefore treats that figure only as the manufacturer's stated coverage condition and does not convert it into a wildfire-smoke recommendation.

What independent evidence adds

Tom's Guide reported a compact, easy-to-use unit, measured roughly 44 to 61 dB, and observed different response speeds across household challenges. That is useful short-term evidence, but it does not validate five years of service life.

Ownership evidence changes the value claim

The up-to-five-year statement concerns the main filter under Shark's conditions. HP072 also includes a scented odor cartridge sold separately as a replacement. Current first-party pages conflict between three months/as needed and six months, so the page treats it as a recurring cost without promising one interval.

A clearer manufacturer-data comparison

Coway publishes smoke CADR and a 4.8-air-change room figure for the AP-1512HH. That makes its stated sizing basis easier to inspect than HP072's current listing, but it remains manufacturer data and does not establish a head-to-head smoke-performance result.

Ionization and electrostatic tradeoffs are explicit

Coway AP-1512HH(W) has a switchable ionizer and can run with it off. Blueair 511i Max uses electrostatic particle charging with mechanical filtration. CARB lists both exact devices as Electronic; certification means the applicable ozone-emissions ceiling is met, not zero ozone or a general endorsement.

Verdict

Promising but insufficiently proven. Consider HP072 for a small ordinary room when footprint is decisive. Do not buy it chiefly on the assumption that every household will obtain five years of filter life.

Compare published sizing data without inferring performance

Coway, Levoit, and Blueair publish smoke CADR and higher-air-change room figures for these exact models. HP072's current listing does not. Those manufacturer figures create a common sizing reference, but this draft has no independent head-to-head smoke test and does not claim that any alternative cleans smoke better in practice.

Update history
  • 2026-08-18: Initial research draft assembled for U-AIR-001; exact identity, source hierarchy, retailer links, safety screening, three established alternatives, and unresolved evidence were recorded. No publication occurred.
  • 2026-08-18: Internal pre-audit repair removed unsupported smoke-performance implications, added the comparison hub, and replaced copied HP072 safety notes with exact-model pending sizing reviews for all three alternatives. No publication occurred.
  • 2026-08-18: Prepublication editorial remediation narrowed unsupported claims, product scope, retailer scope, and internal links. Status remains needs-review; no publication occurred.
Research Passport

Trade-offs and limitations

  • Worthwise did not perform physical testing.
  • No independent multi-year HP072 filter-life study was located.
  • Alternative CADR and room figures are manufacturer-published and do not establish comparative real-world smoke performance.
  • The included scented odor cartridge is a separate recurring consumable; Shark's current first-party pages conflict on its replacement interval.
  • CARB Electronic certification is not a zero-ozone statement or general safety/effectiveness endorsement.

Sources

How we verified it

Related Worthwise guidance