Comparison guide · Sleep Comfort & Environment
Sunrise alarm clocks with useful functions that do not require a subscription
This five-clock shortlist keeps Philips HF3520/60, Philips HF3650/60, and Hatch Restore 3 Putty, then adds the exact U.S. Lumie Bodyclock Luxe 700FM and Glow 150. The Lumie rows have exact North American guides plus attributed exact-model ownership evidence; iHome iBT32 remains in the 15-product research universe but is not displayed because its current exact recommendation evidence is insufficient and materially adverse.
- Published
- Aug 22, 2026
- Updated
- Aug 19, 2026
- Last checked
- Aug 19, 2026
- Recommendation
- Segmented

Recommendations by Buyer Fit

App free colored sunrise
Philips SmartSleep Wake-Up Light
The HF3520/60 provides a colored sunrise, five natural wake sounds, FM radio, and tap snooze. This is a specification-based fit; Worthwise did not independently test this model's performance.
Verified strengths
- The HF3520/60 provides a colored sunrise, five natural wake sounds, FM radio, and tap snooze.
Good fit for
- Buyers who want a self-contained sunrise, sounds, FM radio, and tap snooze.
Think twice if
- Anyone needing app-based multi-routine editing or a small travel clock.

App free wind down and sunrise option
Philips SmartSleep Sleep and Wake-Up Light
Philips HF3650/60 provides local sunrise, sunset, sound, and radio functions without phone connectivity or a content subscription. This is a specification-based fit; Worthwise did not independently test this model's performance.
Verified strengths
- Philips HF3650/60 provides local sunrise, sunset, sound, and radio functions without phone connectivity or a content subscription.
Good fit for
- Buyers who want local sunrise, sunset, sounds, and FM radio without phone connectivity or a content subscription.
Think twice if
- Anyone needing app-based routine editing or a compact travel clock.

Free core after connected setup
Hatch Restore 3
Restore 3 is Hatch’s third-generation sunrise clock and sound machine in the selected Putty finish; setup requires the Hatch Sleep app, a compatible Bluetooth device, and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi before its physical bedside controls can be used for the configured routine. Hatch lists five unwind audio options, 40 sleep sounds, 20 alarm sounds, and 20 lights with Restore, plus a 30-day Hatch+ trial; Hatch+ expands the catalog. Hatch also states that Restore 3 has no battery and turns off during an outage. WIRED tested one Restore 3 in Greige and found the added physical controls easier to use after app setup, while noting continuing phone dependence and a paid-content boundary. One unit does not establish alarm reliability, service longevity, or Putty-specific durability.
Verified strengths
- Restore 3 is Hatch’s third-generation sunrise clock and sound machine in the selected Putty finish; setup requires the Hatch Sleep app, a compatible Bluetooth device, and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi before its physical bedside controls can be used for the configured routine.
- Hatch lists five unwind audio options, 40 sleep sounds, 20 alarm sounds, and 20 lights with Restore, plus a 30-day Hatch+ trial; Hatch+ expands the catalog.
- Restore 3 has no battery, must remain plugged into mains power, and turns off during a power outage.
Good fit for
- People willing to complete app, Bluetooth, and 2.4-GHz Wi-Fi setup who want on-device bedtime and alarm controls plus the documented free catalog.
Think twice if
- Buyers who want setup without a phone or network, who do not want a 30-day Hatch+ trial and paid-catalog boundary, or who require alarm continuity during a power outage.
Material weaknesses
- A compatible phone and account, Bluetooth, and 2.4-GHz Wi-Fi are part of setup. WIRED notes continuing app and phone friction; the retained evidence does not establish an outage or failure rate.
- Official support states that Restore has no battery and turns off during a power outage; no failure-rate claim is inferred.

Premium app free audio option
Lumie Bodyclock Luxe 700FM
The exact U.S. record uses the current NA-FMi2307a guide and an attributed three-month exact-model ownership review. Worthwise did not independently test light, sound, flicker, alarm reliability, or long-term durability.
Check retailer availabilityVerified strengths
- Lumie's official record supports the exact Bodyclock Luxe 700FM identity and listed source-bounded facts, not comparative superiority.
- Lumie's exact or explicitly linked guide was reviewed for Bodyclock Luxe 700FM electrical, placement, backup, operating, and ownership limits.
- Amazon's dated U.S. record was reviewed only for exact identity, seller, price, stock, or offer state for Bodyclock Luxe 700FM; those fields remain volatile.
- Tom's Guide's exact-model review supports only its stated sample, duration, region, controls, and ownership tradeoffs for Bodyclock Luxe 700FM; clinical or universal outcomes are not inferred.
- Optimize Your Biology's exact-model review supports only its stated sample, duration, region, controls, and ownership tradeoffs for Bodyclock Luxe 700FM; clinical or universal outcomes are not inferred.
Good fit for
- Buyers who want local alarms, 15-90 minute sunrise adjustment, onboard sounds, FM radio, and optional Bluetooth without a clock subscription.
Think twice if
- Buyers prioritizing low price, small footprint, intuitive first use, 12-hour display, or dependable alarm operation during an outage.

Compact tactile app free option
Lumie Bodyclock Glow 150
The exact U.S. identity and North American guide are paired with an attributed exact-model two-week ownership review. The guide controls electrical facts; Worthwise did not independently test wake outcomes or long-term reliability.
Check retailer availabilityVerified strengths
- Lumie's official record supports the exact Bodyclock Glow 150 identity and listed source-bounded facts, not comparative superiority.
- Lumie's exact or explicitly linked guide was reviewed for Bodyclock Glow 150 electrical, placement, backup, operating, and ownership limits.
- Amazon's dated U.S. record was reviewed only for exact identity, seller, price, stock, or offer state for Bodyclock Glow 150; those fields remain volatile.
- The Guardian's exact-model review supports only its stated sample, duration, region, controls, and ownership tradeoffs for Bodyclock Glow 150; clinical or universal outcomes are not inferred.
- Optimize Your Biology's exact-model review supports only its stated sample, duration, region, controls, and ownership tradeoffs for Bodyclock Glow 150; clinical or universal outcomes are not inferred.
Good fit for
- Buyers who want local tactile controls, no app or account, and 20/30/45-minute sunrise choices in the exact black U.S. configuration.
Think twice if
- Buyers needing a non-black finish, fine-grained timing, low price, radio/Bluetooth, weekly scheduling, or dependable alarm operation during an outage.
Research at a glance
- Sources reviewed
- 52
- Candidates considered
- 15
- Shortlisted
- 5
- Evidence confidence
- Moderate
- Last verified
- Aug 19, 2026
Supporting research, models, limitations, and sources
Quick chooser
| If you need | Consider | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Buyers who want a self-contained sunrise, sounds, FM radio, and tap snooze. | Philips SmartSleep Wake-Up Light | The HF3520/60 provides a colored sunrise, five natural wake sounds, FM radio, and tap snooze. This is a specification-based fit; Worthwise did not independently test this model's performance. |
| Buyers who want local sunrise, sunset, sounds, and FM radio without phone connectivity or a content subscription. | Philips SmartSleep Sleep and Wake-Up Light | Philips HF3650/60 provides local sunrise, sunset, sound, and radio functions without phone connectivity or a content subscription. This is a specification-based fit; Worthwise did not independently test this model's performance. |
| People willing to complete app, Bluetooth, and 2.4-GHz Wi-Fi setup who want on-device bedtime and alarm controls plus the documented free catalog. | Hatch Restore 3 | Restore 3 is Hatch’s third-generation sunrise clock and sound machine in the selected Putty finish; setup requires the Hatch Sleep app, a compatible Bluetooth device, and 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi before its physical bedside controls can be used for the configured routine. Hatch lists five unwind audio options, 40 sleep sounds, 20 alarm sounds, and 20 lights with Restore, plus a 30-day Hatch+ trial; Hatch+ expands the catalog. Hatch also states that Restore 3 has no battery and turns off during an outage. WIRED tested one Restore 3 in Greige and found the added physical controls easier to use after app setup, while noting continuing phone dependence and a paid-content boundary. One unit does not establish alarm reliability, service longevity, or Putty-specific durability. |
| Buyers who want local alarms, 15-90 minute sunrise adjustment, onboard sounds, FM radio, and optional Bluetooth without a clock subscription. | Lumie Bodyclock Luxe 700FM | The exact U.S. record uses the current NA-FMi2307a guide and an attributed three-month exact-model ownership review. Worthwise did not independently test light, sound, flicker, alarm reliability, or long-term durability. |
| Buyers who want local tactile controls, no app or account, and 20/30/45-minute sunrise choices in the exact black U.S. configuration. | Lumie Bodyclock Glow 150 | The exact U.S. identity and North American guide are paired with an attributed exact-model two-week ownership review. The guide controls electrical facts; Worthwise did not independently test wake outcomes or long-term reliability. |
Exact models in this decision
| Product | Model number | Generation | Variant | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Philips SmartSleep Wake-Up Light | HF3520/60 | Not stated | Not stated | Aug 18, 2026 |
| Philips SmartSleep Sleep and Wake-Up Light | HF3650/60 | Not stated | White | Aug 18, 2026 |
| Hatch Restore 3 | Not stated | Third generation | Putty | Aug 18, 2026 |
| Lumie Bodyclock Luxe 700FM | NBCLA-F700 | Not stated | United States; supplied U.S. 24 V DC / 1 A adapter; FM radio and Bluetooth speakers | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Lumie Bodyclock Glow 150 | NBCGA-1000 | Not stated | Black, United States, North American guide NA-BC150i1908 | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Lumie Bodyclock Rise 100 US | Bodyclock Rise 100 / BCR100 | Not stated | U.S. | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Dreamegg Sunrise 1 | HFD-W26 | Sunrise 1 | Classic White; DGS-D26-WH; UPC 658215834240 | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Dreamegg Sunrise 1+ Sound Machine | MBZ226-US | Sunrise 1+ | White; DGS-D26P-WH | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Dreamegg Sunrise Art Alarm Clock | YF03-DG-US | Sunrise Art | Wooden; DGS-YF03-WD | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Dreamegg Sunrise 2 Ultra Sunrise Sleep Wake Clock | D66B | Sunrise 2 Ultra | White; DGS-D66B-WH | Aug 19, 2026 |
| iHome Sunrise Alarm Clock Radio with Bluetooth Speaker and Color Changing Lamp | iBT32 | current 2024/2025 sunrise-clock generation; not the legacy SoundFlask product that reused iBT32 | White; UPC 047532920956; current exact quick-start guide iBT32_QSG_V17N | Aug 19, 2026 |
| iHome Powerglow Clock Radio with Bluetooth Speaker and USB Charging | iBT295B | Not stated | Black | Aug 19, 2026 |
| iHome Alarm Clock Radio with Wireless Charger, Bluetooth Speaker and 2 USB Chargers | iBTW282B | Not stated | Black; iBTW282B.EXv25; UPC 047532921212 | Aug 19, 2026 |
| WiiM Wake-up Light | SAC-001 | Not stated | Polished Silver; manual identifier WWL001 | Aug 19, 2026 |
| Mudita Harmony 2 | BH01 | Harmony 2 | Pebble Gray | Aug 19, 2026 |
How we compared them
| Criterion | Scope used |
|---|---|
| subscription | core_functions_free |
| controls | on_device_or_app |
| audio | radio_or_built_in_sounds |
Considered, then left off the shortlist
- Lumie Bodyclock Rise 100 US
- Dreamegg Sunrise 1
- Dreamegg Sunrise 1+ Sound Machine
- Dreamegg Sunrise Art Alarm Clock
- Dreamegg Sunrise 2 Ultra Sunrise Sleep Wake Clock
- iHome Sunrise Alarm Clock Radio with Bluetooth Speaker and Color Changing Lamp
- iHome Powerglow Clock Radio with Bluetooth Speaker and USB Charging
- iHome Alarm Clock Radio with Wireless Charger, Bluetooth Speaker and 2 USB Chargers
- WiiM Wake-up Light
- Mudita Harmony 2
What subscription-free means here
The alarm, sunrise light, and basic local sound or radio functions must remain useful without a recurring payment. App, account, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and optional third-party service dependencies are disclosed separately.
Quick chooser
Philips HF3520/60 and HF3650/60 remain app-free local options. Hatch Restore 3 Putty retains app/network setup and an optional paid-content boundary. Lumie Luxe 700FM adds local FM/Bluetooth and broad timing; Glow 150 adds compact tactile local control.
The corrected Lumie records
Luxe 700FM now uses the current U.S.-page-linked NA-FMi2307a manual and exact ASIN/no-featured-offer classification. Glow 150 uses NBCGA-1000, the North American NA-BC150i1908 guide, Lumie-direct fulfillment, and the guide's 20/30/45-minute settings.
Why iHome iBT32 is candidate-only
The current-generation White iBT32 passes exact identity, purchase, current-manual, CPSC, electrical, and backup gates. It is not displayed because no exact professional independent review was found and the small current exact-user corpus is uniformly adverse; that corpus cannot estimate a defect rate.
Outage and battery boundaries
Backup cells may preserve time, settings, or a stated alarm function without powering the light, radio, speaker, USB/Qi output, or whole device. Where a guide does not promise alarm/light operation, use a secondary outage alarm.
Evidence limits
Worthwise did not physically measure brightness, color, flicker, speaker output, clock drift, app reliability, or long-term durability. Manufacturer and indexed documentation establish bounded facts; attributed exact-model ownership reviews retain their sample, duration, and regional limits.
Questions buyers ask
Did Worthwise physically test these products?
No. Worthwise reviewed the cited manufacturer documentation and external reporting; it did not physically test these products.
Why are the recommendations segmented?
Local controls, sunrise and sound functions, connected setup, and the free-versus-paid content boundary change the fit.
Update history
- 2026-08-18: Initial prepublication research intake assembled from the cited sources; this needs-review record has not been published.
- 2026-08-18: Prepublication editorial remediation narrowed unsupported claims, product scope, retailer scope, and internal links. Status remains needs-review; no publication occurred.
- 2026-08-18: Prepublication intake repair replaced a cross-pack page reference with the public unique-product hub. Status remains needs-review; no publication occurred.
- 2026-08-18: Prepublication exact-variant remediation replaced the regionally unresolved Beurer WL 50 with the exact U.S. Philips HF3650/60 record. Three products remain; status stays needs-review and no publication occurred.
- 2026-08-18: Independent editorial review closed the graph to six exact sources, added Restore 3 setup and free-versus-paid claims, attributed the one-unit Greige WIRED test, and removed cross-model Philips/Lumie source contamination.
- 2026-08-19: Expanded the exact research universe to 15 dual-reviewed candidates and the displayed shortlist to 5 products. Candidate-only products remain outside recommendation copy and public retailer relations.
- 2026-08-19: Added exact Hatch Restore 3 power-dependence evidence and visible outage-alarm continuity boundary; no failure-rate claim was inferred.
- 2026-08-19: Reconciled the exact 15-product sunrise-clock universe and corrected the five-product displayed shortlist: exact U.S. Lumie Bodyclock Luxe 700FM now uses the current page-linked NA-FMi2307a manual, Lumie Glow 150 replaces iHome iBT32 in display recommendations, and the exact current-generation iBT32 White remains candidate-only. All 12 nonpreserved records carry dated purchase and Amazon classifications, reciprocal sources, two distinct Work-session safety decisions, outage limits, and needs-review/nonpublishable state.
Research Passport
Trade-offs and limitations
- No Worthwise physical testing was performed.
- Selected exact retailer destinations were checked on 2026-08-18 or 2026-08-19; stock, seller, regional power bundle, membership terms, and app support can change.
- This guide remains subject to correction when product evidence changes.
- Exact model, variant, bundle, and selected destination were checked for the recorded products on 2026-08-18; grouped manufacturer pages, price, stock, configuration, and retailer routing can still change.
Sources